Choosing a pet emergency go bag comes down to more than counting supplies: I look at how well each kit matches your animal, how it carries, and what you may still need to add. The Pet Emergency Kit for Cats and Dogs is my most flexible pick for mixed-pet households, while the Pet Evacuation Survival Kit for Small to Medium Dogs lists a five-year shelf life for its food and water. Cat owners who want litter packed alongside basic evacuation supplies can compare the Pet Evac Pak Emergency Kit for Cats with the more simply specified backpack option. The main tradeoffs are species and weight limits, included food and water quantities, and whether you need a separate carrier.
Get emergency and outdoor gear delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
I ranked these kits by how clearly their listed contents support an emergency departure, how many practical needs they address, and how easy it is to match them to a pet. A “72-hour” label is a preparedness target, not a substitute for checking portions against your animal’s needs. I’d also plan to add familiar food, medications, and current identification details where the kit’s stated contents fall short.
Key Takeaways
- The Pet Emergency Kit for Cats and Dogs has the broadest stated fit: cats up to 22 lb and dogs up to 40 lb, with food, water, first aid, bowls, leads, and cat litter gear.
- The Pet Evacuation Survival Kit is the clearest small-dog choice for shelf-life planning: its food and water are listed with a five-year shelf life, but the kit is limited to dogs up to 30 lb.
- The Pet Evac Pak Emergency Kit for Cats includes litter, a scoop, and waste bags, which gives it a more cat-specific sanitation setup than the other cat options.
- The QK Dog Survival Kit adds shelter and restraint gear, including a 50 ft rope, stake, warmer, and blanket, but its food listing is only an 8 oz pack.
- The 72-Hour Emergency Backpack Kit for Cats lists a cat weight limit and backpack carry style, but its supplied details do not spell out individual contents and it still requires a separate carrier.
| Pet Emergency Kit for Cats and Dogs with Durable Backpack | ![]() | Best Overall for Mixed-Pet Households | Pet fit: Cats up to 22 lb; dogs up to 40 lb | Preparedness duration: Up to 72 hours | Backpack dimensions: 17 × 12 × 5.5 in | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Pet Evacuation Survival Kit for Small to Medium Dogs up to 30 lbs | ![]() | Best for Small Dogs and Shelf-Life Planning | Brand: Pet Evac Pak | Suitable pet: Dogs up to 30 lb | Pieces: 39 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Pet Evac Pak Emergency Kit for Cats | ![]() | Best Cat Kit for Litter and Sanitation | Brand: Pet Evac Pak | Set contents: 23 items | Emergency food: One 8 oz package | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| QK Dog Survival Kit, 72-Hour Pet Emergency Go Bag | ![]() | Best Dog Kit for Shelter and Restraint Gear | Emergency dog food: One 8 oz pack | Water: Six pouches | Water treatment: 10 purification tablets | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 72-Hour Emergency Backpack Kit for Cats | ![]() | Best Simple Backpack Option for Cats | Suitable cat weight: Up to 22 lb | Supply duration: Up to 72 hours | Carry style: Backpack | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| pet emergency go bag | Water |
|---|---|
| Pet Emergency Kit for Cats and | 12 pouches, 4.225 fl oz each |
| Pet Evacuation Survival Kit fo | 12 bags, 4.225 oz each |
| Pet Evac Pak Emergency Kit for | 12 pouches, 4.225 fl oz each |
| QK Dog Survival Kit | Six pouches |
| 72-Hour Emergency Backpack Kit | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Pet Emergency Kit for Cats and Dogs with Durable Backpack
This is my lead recommendation for a household that wants one listed kit for cats and dogs. Its fit guidance covers cats up to 22 lb and dogs up to 40 lb, and its contents span emergency food and water, first aid, safety gear, bowls, and cat sanitation supplies. That breadth makes it more adaptable than the dog-only QK kit or either cat-specific bag when your evacuation plan includes different species.
The contents list is unusually useful for planning: it specifies separate cat and dog food packs, twelve water pouches, four collapsible bowls, two slip leads, two lights, and a collapsible litterbox with litter and scoop. The 17-by-12-by-5.5-inch backpack also has several zippered and mesh pockets, giving you a way to organize supplies or add items such as medication and copies of records. Compared with the Pet Evac Pak dog kit, it trades a stated five-year food-and-water shelf life for broader pet coverage and more explicit storage details.
The tradeoff is that “for cats and dogs” does not mean suitable for every pet or every evacuation scenario. Its stated size limits rule out larger animals, and the listed food is finite: two 8 oz dog packs and one 8 oz cat pack. I would check those portions against my pets’ needs and supplement with familiar food. It is also a fuller mixed-pet load than a single-cat bag, so a household still needs to decide who carries the pet and who carries supplies.
Pros:- Covers cats and dogs within stated size limits.
- Lists food, water, first aid, safety gear, and cat litter supplies.
- Four bowls and two slip leads support care for more than one pet.
- Multiple pockets leave room for personal additions.
Cons:- Food quantities are limited and need to be checked against each pet’s portions.
- The listed weight limits exclude larger cats and dogs.
- A mixed-pet supply load may be bulky for an evacuation where each person already carries gear.
Best for: Households with a cat and dog within the stated weight limits that want food, water, first aid, restraint, bowls, and litter supplies organized in one backpack.
Not ideal for: Owners of cats over 22 lb, dogs over 40 lb, or anyone who needs a kit with clearly specified food-and-water shelf life.
- Pet fit:Cats up to 22 lb; dogs up to 40 lb
- Preparedness duration:Up to 72 hours
- Backpack dimensions:17 × 12 × 5.5 in
- Dog food:Two 8 oz packages
- Cat food:One 8 oz package
- Water:12 pouches, 4.225 fl oz each
- Bowls:Four collapsible silicone bowls, 12 oz each
- Cat sanitation:Collapsible litterbox, 2 lb clumping litter, scoop, waste bags
Our verdict“I’d choose this as the most versatile single bag for a household with a cat and dog that both fit its stated size limits.”
Pet Evacuation Survival Kit for Small to Medium Dogs up to 30 lbs
For a small-dog owner who wants a defined emergency food-and-water reserve, this kit stands out for its stated five-year shelf life for those supplies. Its 39 pieces include a first aid kit, two collapsible bowls, a four-foot slip lead, LED light, ID card, and waterproof ID holder. That makes it a focused dog evacuation kit with more identification and first aid detail than the sparsely specified 72-Hour Emergency Backpack Kit for Cats.
The backpack’s extra pockets and clips also make it easier to add a leash, medication, vaccination records, or familiar treats. Compared with the QK Dog Survival Kit, this option gives a more explicit long-term storage detail and is aimed at dogs up to 30 lb; QK’s appeal is its shelter and warmth gear, while this kit’s appeal is its stated food-and-water shelf life and practical ID items. The 12 water bags are individually listed, which gives buyers a clearer picture of what is packed.
Its biggest limitation is fit: it is designed only for dogs up to 30 lb, so larger dogs need another plan. The product details describe food and water as supporting up to 72 hours, but the exact food amount is not given here, so I would verify portions for my dog before depending on that duration. This is a strong small-dog option, though a cat owner or a household with a larger dog should look to the mixed-pet kit only if that pet falls within its limits—or assemble a better-matched kit.
Pros:- Food and water are listed with a five-year shelf life.
- 39-piece set includes first aid and safety supplies.
- Includes two collapsible bowls and an ID card with waterproof holder.
- Backpack pockets and clips allow personal additions.
Cons:- Designed only for dogs up to 30 lb.
- The supplied details do not state the amount of emergency food.
- Its contents are dog-specific, so it does not cover a mixed-pet household.
Best for: Owners of dogs up to 30 lb who value a dedicated dog bag with a stated five-year shelf life for its emergency food and water.
Not ideal for: Owners of larger dogs, cats, or buyers who need exact food quantities to compare against their pet’s daily ration.
- Brand:Pet Evac Pak
- Suitable pet:Dogs up to 30 lb
- Pieces:39
- Preparedness duration:Up to 72 hours
- Food and water shelf life:5 years
- Water:12 bags, 4.225 oz each
- Bowls:Two collapsible bowls
- Safety and ID:4 ft slip lead, LED light, ID card, waterproof ID holder
Our verdict“I’d pick this for a small dog when shelf-life information and identification supplies matter more than a multi-species setup.”
Pet Evac Pak Emergency Kit for Cats
This cat-specific kit earns its place through the litter and waste setup. Alongside emergency food and water, its 23 listed items include a litterbox, 2 lb of litter, a scoop, and waste bags. That gives it a practical advantage over the 72-Hour Emergency Backpack Kit for Cats, whose supplied description confirms a duration, carry style, and weight limit but does not identify individual sanitation items.
The Pet Evac Pak also lists two 12 oz collapsible bowls, first aid and safety supplies, and a six-foot slip lead. Food and water are stated to have a five-year shelf life, which helps with preparedness checks, while twelve water pouches make the water quantity visible. I’d see it as a cat care supply bag designed to travel alongside the animal’s carrier: it gathers necessities, but it does not serve as the carrier itself.
That carrier dependency is the key tradeoff. During an evacuation, you need a secure way to transport the cat, and this bag is explicitly a companion to an existing carrier. The included food is one 8 oz package, so buyers should compare that amount with their cat’s normal intake and add familiar food if needed. Compared with the mixed-pet backpack, this pick is more clearly tailored to litter care, but it offers no stated dog compatibility or cat weight limit in the supplied specifications.
Pros:- Includes a litterbox, 2 lb of litter, scoop, and waste bags.
- Lists food and water intended for emergency preparedness.
- Five-year stated shelf life for food and water.
- Two collapsible bowls and a six-foot slip lead are included.
Cons:- Requires a separate cat carrier.
- Food is limited to one 8 oz package.
- The supplied specs do not state a cat weight limit.
Best for: Cat owners who already have a secure carrier and want litter, a scoop, waste bags, food, water, and basic safety supplies packed together.
Not ideal for: Anyone who needs the emergency bag to double as a carrier, or who wants a stated cat weight limit or larger listed food reserve.
- Brand:Pet Evac Pak
- Set contents:23 items
- Emergency food:One 8 oz package
- Water:12 pouches, 4.225 fl oz each
- Food and water shelf life:5 years
- Collapsible bowls:Two, 12 oz each
- Litter supplies:2 lb litter, litterbox, scoop, waste bags
- Carry arrangement:Portable cinch bag; companion to a separate carrier
Our verdict“I’d choose this over the less detailed cat backpack when litter management is a priority and a carrier is already part of the plan.”
QK Dog Survival Kit, 72-Hour Pet Emergency Go Bag
The QK kit has a different emphasis from the Pet Evac Pak small-dog bag: it packs shelter and restraint equipment alongside basic food, water, and first aid. A 50 ft nylon rope, metal stake with tie-down leash, reflective collar and leash, body warmer, and Mylar blanket make this a plausible fit for evacuation plans where you may need to secure a dog temporarily or provide warmth. The Pet Evac Pak is more specific about food-and-water shelf life; QK offers more outdoor-oriented gear.
It also lists six water pouches, ten purification tablets, a double-sided bowl, waste bags, a bright stick, and a 107-piece first aid kit. Those details create a broad emergency toolkit in a portable backpack. I would view the purification tablets as an additional contingency, not as a reason to skip carrying water appropriate for the dog. The included toy may provide comfort during a stressful disruption, though the kit’s primary value is its practical restraint and shelter set.
The clearest drawback is the limited 8 oz food pack. The “72-hour” label should not be read as a guarantee that this quantity covers every dog for three days; portions vary, so I’d pack more food matched to the animal. The available specifications also do not provide a dog weight range. Compared with the mixed-pet kit, QK is exclusively for dogs and lacks cat supplies, but its stake, rope, and warmth items give it a more outdoor-focused role.
Pros:- 50 ft rope, stake, tie-down leash, collar, and leash support temporary restraint.
- Includes a body warmer and Mylar blanket for warmth.
- 107-piece first aid kit and water purification tablets are listed.
- Backpack packs the supplies for grab-and-go carrying.
Cons:- Food is limited to one 8 oz pack.
- No dog size or weight range is stated in the supplied details.
- Designed for dogs and does not include cat-specific care supplies.
Best for: Dog owners who want a backpack with substantial restraint, warmth, and temporary tie-down gear for evacuation scenarios.
Not ideal for: Owners who need a clearly quantified multi-day food supply, a stated dog weight range, or supplies for cats.
- Emergency dog food:One 8 oz pack
- Water:Six pouches
- Water treatment:10 purification tablets
- First aid:107 pieces
- Rope:50 ft nylon
- Restraint gear:Reflective collar and leash; metal stake and tie-down leash
- Warmth:Body warmer and Mylar blanket
- Packaging:Quake Kits backpack
Our verdict“I’d choose QK when restraint and warmth gear matter most, then add enough familiar food for the dog’s actual needs.”
72-Hour Emergency Backpack Kit for Cats
This option is easiest to shortlist when your priorities are straightforward: a backpack carry style, a stated 72-hour preparedness goal, and a fit for cats up to 22 lb. Its description positions it for emergencies, evacuations, and travel. Those details make it more specific on cat weight than the Pet Evac Pak cat bag, whose supplied specifications do not state a limit.
The difficulty is that the available listing details do not enumerate food, water, first aid, or litter components. That leaves less to compare than with the Pet Evac Pak cat kit, which lists water pouches, bowls, and a full litter setup, or the mixed-pet backpack, which gives quantities for food, water, and several care items. Before choosing this one, I’d inspect the current item listing and verify exactly what the bag contains; the duration claim alone cannot show whether its provisions fit my cat.
A separate carrier is required, so the backpack handles supplies rather than animal transport. This can work for someone who already has a carrier and values a stated cat size range, but it is the least transparent option in this lineup based on the supplied details. Buyers seeking a documented sanitation kit should favor Pet Evac Pak; those seeking a cat-and-dog supply bag should compare the mixed-pet kit, provided their pets fit its limits.
Pros:- States a cat weight limit of up to 22 lb.
- Backpack format supports hands-free supply carrying.
- Designed for emergencies, evacuations, and travel.
- Lists a preparedness duration of up to 72 hours.
Cons:- Requires a separate cat carrier.
- The supplied product details do not enumerate individual kit contents.
- Food, water, and litter quantities are not stated here.
Best for: Cat owners whose animal is within the 22 lb limit, who already have a carrier, and who want a backpack format for emergency supplies.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a clearly itemized contents list before purchase or want the bag to transport the cat itself.
- Suitable cat weight:Up to 22 lb
- Supply duration:Up to 72 hours
- Carry style:Backpack
- Intended use:Emergencies, evacuations, and travel
- Carrier:Separate cat carrier required
- Food quantity:Not specified in supplied details
- Water quantity:Not specified in supplied details
- Individual components:Not itemized in supplied details
Our verdict“I’d consider this only after verifying its current contents, since the stated weight range and backpack format do not answer what supplies are actually included.”

How We Picked
I compared these five options as grab-and-go emergency kits, not as everyday pet backpacks or full replacements for a household evacuation plan. My ranking favors kits whose listed contents address multiple practical needs—food and water, first aid, identification or restraint, and species-specific care—while still making their limits clear. I also considered whether the carrying format and pet-size guidance help a buyer decide if the bag fits their animal.
The available product details vary. Some list individual supplies and quantities; others offer a broad duration claim with little component detail. I give more weight to specifics a buyer can verify, such as the Pet Evac Pak dog kit’s stated food and water shelf life, the cat kit’s litter supplies, or the mixed-pet kit’s four bowls and two leads. A long component list can be useful, but it does not prove that every item suits every animal or that the food quantity covers a particular pet for a full three days.
I also compared the species and weight limits and whether the kit depends on another essential item. The cat Pet Evac Pak is explicitly designed to accompany an existing carrier; the 72-Hour cat backpack also requires a separate carrier. For any kit, I would check food portions, water needs, medication, carrier access, and condition of stored supplies before relying on it. The ranking reflects the information provided here, rather than hands-on testing or independent verification of manufacturer claims.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best Pet Emergency Go Bags
I’d choose a pet emergency bag by matching its contents to the way my household would leave, rather than treating a duration label as a complete plan. The five kits vary in species fit, item detail, sanitation, and outdoor gear. These checks help narrow the options and identify what to add.
Match the kit to your pet’s species and size
Start with the stated limits. The Pet Evacuation Survival Kit is for dogs up to 30 lb; the mixed-pet backpack covers cats up to 22 lb and dogs up to 40 lb; and the cat backpack lists cats up to 22 lb. The supplied specs for the Pet Evac Pak cat kit and QK dog kit do not give a weight range, so I would confirm suitability before buying. A kit that exceeds its stated limit is not a good fit simply because it contains useful supplies.
For more than one animal, check whether the food, water, bowls, and restraint supplies are enough for all of them. The mixed-pet bag lists two dog food packs and one cat food pack, plus four bowls and two slip leads; that is more adaptable than the single-species choices, but the quantities still need to match the animals you have.
Treat “72 hours” as a planning prompt
A 72-hour claim gives you a useful target for emergency planning, but the practical question is whether the listed food and water match your pet’s needs. QK specifies one 8 oz food pack and six water pouches; the Pet Evac Pak cat kit lists one 8 oz food package and twelve water pouches. The mixed-pet bag states two 8 oz dog food packs, one 8 oz cat food pack, and twelve water pouches. I would compare those amounts with normal portions, then add familiar food and more water as needed.
The Pet Evacuation Survival Kit states a five-year shelf life for food and water, as does the Pet Evac Pak cat kit. That makes storage planning easier, though stored supplies still need periodic inspection and replacement according to their packaging. The 72-Hour Emergency Backpack Kit for Cats has no individual quantities in the supplied specs, so verify them before treating it as a self-contained reserve.
Check carrier, sanitation, and comfort needs
For a cat, the carrier is a separate part of the evacuation plan for both cat-oriented bags described here. The Pet Evac Pak cat kit is designed as a companion to an existing carrier, and the 72-Hour cat backpack also requires one. Keep the carrier accessible and familiar to the cat; a supply bag cannot replace secure transport.
Litter gear separates the Pet Evac Pak cat kit and mixed-pet backpack from the other options. The former lists a litterbox, 2 lb of litter, a scoop, and waste bags; the latter lists a collapsible nylon litterbox, clumping litter, scoop, and disposal bags. For dogs, waste bags appear in the QK kit and the mixed-pet kit. Warmth and comfort gear is more prominent in QK, with a body warmer, Mylar blanket, and toy.
Compare what is itemized and what remains unclear
Detailed contents help me spot gaps before an emergency. The mixed-pet kit lists food quantities, water pouch size, bowls, first aid supplies, identification items, and bag dimensions. The small-dog kit lists its piece count, water quantity, and identification supplies. QK specifies its rope, first aid kit, and shelter gear. By comparison, the supplied details for the cat backpack do not identify its individual contents. If that detail matters to your decision, check the full current listing or choose an option with a more explicit inventory.
Even a long inventory may omit what your pet relies on each day. I would set aside prescription medication, copies of medical and vaccination records, contact details, an extra leash or harness, and familiar food. Use a waterproof pouch for documents and make sure ID tags show current contact information.
Plan who carries what
A backpack can free a hand, but its dimensions and contents still matter when you are also carrying a pet carrier, children’s supplies, or your own emergency bag. The mixed-pet option gives its dimensions and several pockets; the other listings provide less information about storage layout. Think through the route from home to vehicle or shelter, then decide whether the pet travels in a carrier, on a leash, or in another secure arrangement.
Before storing any kit, check expiration or shelf-life details, identify where the bag will be kept, and tell household members how to find it. A short practice of collecting the carrier and bag can reveal missing essentials. Keep the kit tailored to your animal and update it when food, medication, ID, or household plans change.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does a pet emergency go bag really provide everything for 72 hours?
Not necessarily. A stated 72-hour duration is a preparedness target, while the practical coverage depends on the pet’s size, food portions, water needs, and the items actually included. For example, the QK kit lists one 8 oz food pack, while the mixed-pet kit itemizes separate cat and dog food quantities. I would compare the amounts with normal feeding needs and add supplies where they fall short.
Which kit is best if I have both a cat and a dog?
The Pet Emergency Kit for Cats and Dogs is the only option in this group that explicitly covers both species, with cats up to 22 lb and dogs up to 40 lb. It lists separate food packs, water, four bowls, two leads, first aid supplies, and cat litter gear. Check the limits for each animal and whether the included food portions are enough for your household.
Do the cat emergency bags include a carrier?
The supplied details say the Pet Evac Pak cat kit is a companion to an existing carrier and that the 72-Hour Emergency Backpack Kit for Cats requires a separate carrier. I would plan for a secure, accessible carrier as part of the evacuation setup, regardless of which supply bag I choose.
How should I handle food and water in a stored emergency kit?
Check the packaging and stated shelf life, and inspect stored supplies on a regular schedule. The two Pet Evac Pak options list a five-year shelf life for food and water; the other supplied details do not state the same shelf-life information. I would also add familiar food and enough water for my pet’s needs, since the quantity required varies by animal and conditions.
What should I add to a prepacked pet go bag?
I would add prescription medications, current medical and vaccination records, contact information, familiar food, and any leash, harness, or comfort item my pet relies on. For cats, I’d make sure a carrier is ready; for dogs, I’d check restraint fit and keep an extra leash available. Review the kit’s inventory against your own pet’s routine so you can spot missing or insufficient supplies before an emergency.
Conclusion
For a mixed cat-and-dog household, I’d start with the Pet Emergency Kit for Cats and Dogs, provided both animals fit its stated limits. For a small-dog owner focused on stored supplies, the Pet Evacuation Survival Kit has the clearest shelf-life information. Cat owners who prioritize a litter setup should look at the Pet Evac Pak cat kit and pair it with a carrier. If warmth and temporary restraint are the main concern for a dog, QK brings the most outdoor-oriented gear, with extra food added to suit the animal. I’d shortlist the 72-Hour cat backpack only after confirming its individual contents. Whichever bag fits, tailor its food, water, medication, and transport plan to your pet before storing it for an emergency.
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.





