Battery-powered emergency lights range from hardwired fixtures with backup batteries to portable lanterns and rechargeable bulbs. My best overall pick is the RMC LED Emergency Lights 2-Pack for its adjustable heads and hardwired, battery-backup design; the Consciot 1000-Lumen Lantern stands out for portable, dimmable area lighting, while the Amazon Basics 6-Pack suits buyers equipping several fixed locations. The main choice is between lights that switch on during a power failure at a designated fixture and portable lights you can carry where needed. Backup duration, installation needs, battery maintenance, and how much area one light covers all affect the right fit. Read on for the full comparison and a guide to choosing for your home or emergency kit.
Get emergency and outdoor gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Key Takeaways
- Fixed emergency fixtures and portable lanterns serve different jobs: RMC, Lithonia, Sunco, and similar units are intended for installed locations, while camping lanterns can move from room to room.
- The RMC 2-Pack leads for adjustable installed coverage: its dual heads and broad voltage range make it a more flexible fixed-light choice than a basic portable lantern.
- The Consciot lantern is the portable standout for brightness control: its stated 1000-lumen output and dimming offer more control than the simpler lantern formats in this lineup.
- Multipacks are most useful when they match a real coverage plan: Sunco’s 12-pack and the Amazon Basics 6-pack can equip multiple spots, but buyers should confirm each fixture’s placement and installation requirements first.
- Rechargeable bulbs and portable lights are not direct substitutes for code-oriented fixtures: DEBAOBULB bulbs and camping lanterns offer flexible lighting, while installed emergency fixtures are the better fit for planned exit or pathway coverage.
| FREELICHT 4-Pack Adjustable LED Emergency Lights | ![]() | Best for Multi-Room Hardwired Coverage | Pack size: 4 fixtures | Light heads: 2 adjustable LED heads per fixture | Backup runtime: At least 90 minutes | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| RMC LED Emergency Lights with Battery Backup, Adjustable Dual Heads, 120–277V, ETL Listed, 2-Pack | ![]() | Best for Damp-Location Directional Lighting | Package quantity: 2 | Battery type: Ni-Cd | Emergency runtime: Over 90 minutes | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| MalloMe Collapsible LED Camping Lanterns, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best for Simple, Shared Portable Backup | Pack size: 4 lanterns | Maximum light output: 146 lumens per lantern | Illumination: 360 degrees | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Sunco 12 Pack LED Emergency Lights for Outages, 90 Minute Backup Battery | ![]() | Best for Large-Building Coverage | Pack quantity: 12 | Backup time: 90 minutes | Voltage range: 120–277 V | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| MalloMe LED Camping Lanterns, 2-Pack | ![]() | Best Compact, Higher-Output Lanterns | Quantity: 2 lanterns | Maximum output: 300 lumens | Light source: COB LED | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Consciot 1000-Lumen Battery-Powered LED Camping Lantern, Dimmable | ![]() | Best for Bright, Adjustable Area Lighting | Pack size: 2 lanterns | Maximum output: 1000 lumens | Coverage: 360 degrees | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Eveready GPAL411 Compact LED Camping Lanterns, 2-Pack | ![]() | Best for Long Runtime on AA Batteries | Pack size: 2 lanterns | Maximum output: 250 lumens per lantern | Coverage: 360-degree area light | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| DEBAOBULB 6-Pack Rechargeable Emergency LED Light Bulbs, 6000K Daylight, E26 | ![]() | Best for Lighting Existing Fixtures During Outages | Pack size: 6 bulbs | Bulb shape and base: A19; E26/E27 | Normal brightness: 800 lumens | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| ROSSEX 4-in-1 Rechargeable Emergency Lights, Pack of 3 | ![]() | Best for Automatic Hallway and Nightstand Backup | Pack size: 3 lights | Light output: 50 lumens | Runtime: Up to 6 hours | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Etekcity LED Camping Lanterns, 4-Pack | ![]() | Best Value Multi-Lantern Kit | Pack size: 4 lanterns | Light source: 30 LEDs per lantern | Maximum brightness: 154 lumens | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Energizer WeatheReady PRO-360 LED Camping Lantern | ![]() | Best Portable All-Rounder | Maximum output: 500 lumens | Battery options: Three D or three AA batteries | Light modes: High, low, and night light | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Lithonia Lighting Basics LED Emergency Light with Adjustable Heads, 120/277V | ![]() | Best for a Fixed Hallway Escape Route | Model: EU2C M6 | Mounting: Wall mount; universal J-box compatible | Lamp heads: Two adjustable LED heads, 1W each | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Sunco 6-Pack LED Emergency Lights with 90-Minute Battery Backup | ![]() | Best Multi-Location Coverage | Pack size: 6 fixtures | Backup duration: Up to 90 minutes per fixture | Voltage: 120/277V | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Amazon Basics LED Emergency Light, UL Certified, 6-Pack, Adjustable Bug Eye Heads with Battery Backup (90-Minute) | ![]() | Best for Safety-Focused Multi-Point Installation | Pack size: 6 fixtures | Input voltage: 120/277V | Battery: Nickel-cadmium, 3.6V, 1000mAh | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Lichamp LED Camping Lantern – 4 Pack, Portable Collapsible Battery-Powered Light (Gray) | ![]() | Best Compact Multi-Lantern Set | Pack size: 4 lanterns | Light output: 350 lumens | Beam coverage: 360 degrees | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| battery powered emergency light | Pack size |
|---|---|
| FREELICHT 4-Pack Adjustable LE | 4 fixtures |
| RMC LED Emergency Lights with | — |
| MalloMe Collapsible LED Campin | 4 lanterns |
| Sunco 12 Pack LED Emergency Li | — |
| MalloMe LED Camping Lanterns | — |
| Consciot 1000-Lumen Battery-Po | 2 lanterns |
| Eveready GPAL411 Compact LED C | 2 lanterns |
| DEBAOBULB 6-Pack Rechargeable | 6 bulbs |
| ROSSEX 4-in-1 Rechargeable Eme | 3 lights |
| Etekcity LED Camping Lanterns | 4 lanterns |
| Energizer WeatheReady PRO-360 | — |
| Lithonia Lighting Basics LED E | — |
| Sunco 6-Pack LED Emergency Lig | 6 fixtures |
| Amazon Basics LED Emergency Li | 6 fixtures |
| Lichamp LED Camping Lantern | 4 lanterns |
More Details on Our Top Picks
FREELICHT 4-Pack Adjustable LED Emergency Lights
The four-fixture pack gives this set an advantage when I need fixed emergency lighting in several rooms or along a commercial corridor. Each wall-mounted unit has two adjustable LED heads, so I can aim light toward an exit or walkway rather than rely on a lantern’s all-around glow. Its built-in NiCd battery supplies at least 90 minutes of backup, and the UL 924 certification and flame-retardant, impact-resistant housing suit a more permanent installation than the portable MalloMe lanterns.
The tradeoff is that this is not a grab-and-go outage kit: it needs hard-wired power, and the fixtures are not water resistant. Compared with the RMC two-pack, FREELICHT supplies more fixtures and a longer stated warranty, but RMC specifies higher brightness and suitability for damp locations. I’d choose FREELICHT for broader indoor coverage, not exposed outdoor areas.
Pros:- Four fixtures help cover multiple indoor locations
- Two adjustable LED heads on each fixture allow directional aiming
- At least 90 minutes of battery backup
- UL 924 certification and flame-retardant, impact-resistant housing
Cons:- Hard-wired installation is less convenient than keeping a battery lantern ready
- Not water resistant
- Wall-mount design limits placement compared with portable lanterns
Best for: Owners or facility managers who want four permanently installed, code-oriented lights across indoor rooms, corridors, or exits.
Not ideal for: Renters and people who need portable lights, or anyone installing fixtures where they may be exposed to water.
- Pack size:4 fixtures
- Light heads:2 adjustable LED heads per fixture
- Backup runtime:At least 90 minutes
- Battery:Built-in NiCd
- Voltage:120/277 V
- Brightness:200 lumens
- Mounting:Wall mount; surface mount
- Certification:UL 924
- Warranty:5 years
Our verdict“Choose FREELICHT when you want four fixed indoor emergency lights with adjustable heads, and skip it if portability or damp-area use matters more.”
RMC LED Emergency Lights with Battery Backup, Adjustable Dual Heads, 120–277V, ETL Listed, 2-Pack
The RMC two-pack is a good fit when emergency lighting needs to be aimed precisely and the mounting area may be damp. Its heads pivot 360 degrees and tilt 90 degrees, while the stated 500-lumen output is higher than the FREELICHT four-pack’s 200 lumens per fixture. The built-in Ni-Cd battery is rated for over 90 minutes, and the listing says it is suitable for dry and damp locations, giving it an edge over both FREELICHT and the portable, non-water-resistant MalloMe four-pack in those settings.
That flexibility comes with a smaller quantity: two fixtures cover fewer locations than FREELICHT’s four or Sunco’s twelve. RMC is also a hardwired wall fixture, not a portable outage light, and its one-year warranty is shorter than FREELICHT’s five years. I’d favor it for focused coverage in a couple of damp-prone indoor areas, rather than for whole-building installations.
Pros:- Two heads adjust through 360-degree pivot and 90-degree tilt
- 500-lumen brightness is higher than the stated FREELICHT output
- Over 90 minutes of battery backup
- Listed as suitable for dry and damp locations
Cons:- Two-pack covers fewer locations than the FREELICHT or Sunco multi-packs
- Hardwired wall mounting does not provide portable lighting
- One-year warranty is shorter than FREELICHT’s five-year warranty
Best for: Property owners who need a pair of hardwired emergency fixtures with aimable heads for indoor spaces that may become damp.
Not ideal for: Buyers needing many fixtures, portable backup lighting, or a longer stated warranty.
- Package quantity:2
- Battery type:Ni-Cd
- Emergency runtime:Over 90 minutes
- Brightness:500 lumens
- Head adjustment:360° pivot and 90° tilt
- Voltage:120–277 V
- Location suitability:Dry and damp locations
- Certification:ETL listed; meets UL 924 standards
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Pick RMC for two bright, aimable fixtures in dry or damp indoor areas, but choose a larger pack for broader building coverage.”
MalloMe Collapsible LED Camping Lanterns, 4-Pack
Unlike the hardwired FREELICHT and RMC fixtures, this four-pack is portable, so I can keep lanterns in separate rooms, a car, or an emergency kit without installing anything. Each unit spreads light across 360 degrees and offers adjustable brightness, which is more useful for general room illumination than the directional beams of wall-mounted emergency lights. The collapsible form also stores more easily than a fixed fixture, and four colors can help a household assign one to each person or location.
The limits matter for outage planning: each lantern needs three AA batteries, sold separately, and the set is not water resistant. Its maximum output of 146 lumens is modest beside the 300-lumen MalloMe two-pack, though four units let me distribute light across more spots. I’d choose this set for portable, low-complexity coverage, not as a substitute for installed, code-oriented emergency fixtures.
Pros:- Four portable lanterns can be placed in separate rooms or kits
- Collapsible design stores compactly
- Adjustable brightness and 360-degree illumination suit general room lighting
- Four colors make it easier to distinguish individual lanterns
Cons:- Requires 12 AA batteries total, and batteries are not included
- Not water resistant
- 146-lumen maximum output is lower than the 300-lumen MalloMe two-pack
Best for: Households building a portable outage kit that want several battery lanterns to distribute among rooms, vehicles, or family members.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want bright single-unit output, weather-resistant lighting, or installed emergency fixtures with automatic backup.
- Pack size:4 lanterns
- Maximum light output:146 lumens per lantern
- Illumination:360 degrees
- Brightness:Adjustable
- Power:3 AA batteries per lantern; 12 total
- Batteries included:No
- Water resistance:Not water resistant
- Material:ABS plastic
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Choose this set for distributed, portable household lighting, provided you supply the AA batteries and keep the lanterns dry.”
Sunco 12 Pack LED Emergency Lights for Outages, 90 Minute Backup Battery
Sunco stands out for buyers who need to equip many locations at once: twelve hardwired fixtures make this the broadest fixed-lighting package in this group. Each unit has adjustable 360-degree floodlights and a built-in battery rated for 90 minutes of backup. Dual wall-or-ceiling mounting gives installers more placement choices than the wall-only FREELICHT and RMC fixtures, while the ABS housing is described as fire resistant and the lights are UL listed.
This scale is useful for corridors, work areas, or a multi-room building, but it is not a portable emergency kit. Installation may require wiring through a J-box or conduit, a bigger project than setting out the battery-operated MalloMe lanterns. The listing does not provide lumen output or a battery type, so I have less information for comparing light intensity and battery details with RMC. I’d pick Sunco for quantity and mounting flexibility, not for a simple household grab-and-go light.
Pros:- Twelve fixtures provide the largest fixed-light package among these five products
- Adjustable 360-degree floodlights support broad light placement
- Dual wall and ceiling mounting options
- UL-listed construction with fire-resistant ABS housing
Cons:- Installation may require wiring through a J-box or conduit
- Not portable like the MalloMe lanterns
- Provided product data does not state lumen output or battery type
Best for: Facility managers or property owners outfitting many indoor locations with fixed emergency lights and able to arrange electrical installation.
Not ideal for: Renters, buyers seeking portable lights, or anyone who needs a specified lumen output or battery chemistry before choosing.
- Pack quantity:12
- Backup time:90 minutes
- Voltage range:120–277 V
- Mounting options:Wall or ceiling
- Light heads:Adjustable 360-degree floodlights
- Material:ABS fire-resistant plastic
- Certification:UL listed
- Installation note:May require wiring through a J-box or conduit
Our verdict“Choose Sunco for large-scale fixed coverage and flexible mounting, but not when you need a portable light or detailed brightness specifications.”
MalloMe LED Camping Lanterns, 2-Pack
For portable emergency lighting where storage space is tight, this MalloMe pair offers a different balance from the four-pack: up to 300 lumens per lantern in a compact, collapsible body. Pulling the lantern up turns it on, making operation straightforward when a power outage leaves a room dark, and its 360-degree COB LED light spreads illumination around the unit rather than aiming a beam at one spot. The water-resistant construction also gives it an advantage over the non-water-resistant MalloMe four-pack.
The compromise is capacity: two lights cover fewer rooms than that four-pack or Sunco’s twelve installed fixtures. Each lantern also needs three AAA batteries, not included, and water resistance should not be treated as full waterproofing. Compared with the AA-powered four-pack, this set gives more stated output per lantern and better moisture protection, but requires a different battery size. I’d choose it for a compact kit that needs brighter portable light.
Pros:- Up to 300 lumens with 360-degree illumination
- Collapsible design and foldaway handles help with storage and carrying
- Simple pull-up on and push-down off operation
- Water-resistant construction offers more protection than the MalloMe four-pack
Cons:- AAA batteries are not included
- Two lanterns provide less distributed coverage than the four-pack
- Water resistant does not mean waterproof
Best for: Campers, drivers, and households who want two compact, brighter-than-basic portable lights for outages and occasional outdoor use.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need several room lights, automatic hardwired backup, or lanterns ready to use without sourcing AAA batteries.
- Quantity:2 lanterns
- Maximum output:300 lumens
- Light source:COB LED
- Beam angle:360 degrees
- Power:3 AAA batteries per lantern
- Batteries included:No
- Water resistance:Water resistant
- Dimensions:3.7 × 3.4 × 3.7 inches
- Weight:5.76 ounces
Our verdict“Pick this pair for compact, higher-output portable lighting, as long as you keep spare AAA batteries available.”
Consciot 1000-Lumen Battery-Powered LED Camping Lantern, Dimmable
The Consciot is the strongest choice here when an outage calls for broad, bright illumination rather than a small plug-in backup light. Its 1000-lumen, 360-degree output can light a shared room or campsite, while stepless dimming and cool, warm, and combined white modes let you adjust the light to the task. Compared with the Etekcity 4-Pack, it offers substantially higher maximum output from each lantern, but Etekcity gives you four separate lights and includes AA batteries. This Consciot listing includes two lanterns, though its three D-cell batteries per lantern are not included. The stated runtime is up to 12 hours at maximum brightness, so it is less suited to prolonged outages than lower-output options. IPX4 protection helps with splashes, not immersion.
Pros:- Up to 1000 lumens with 360-degree coverage
- Stepless dimming and three white-light combinations plus strobe
- Up to 12 hours of runtime at maximum brightness
- Two lanterns with handles and hooks for different hanging positions
Cons:- Requires three D-cell batteries per lantern, which are not included
- Maximum-brightness runtime is shorter than the stated runtimes of lower-output options such as Eveready
- IPX4 protection does not cover immersion
Best for: Households that want powerful, room-filling portable light and can keep D-cell batteries on hand
Not ideal for: Buyers preparing for long outages with limited spare batteries, or anyone needing a light safe for immersion
- Pack size:2 lanterns
- Maximum output:1000 lumens
- Coverage:360 degrees
- Lighting modes:Cool white, warm white, combined white, strobe
- Dimming:Stepless
- Power source:3 D-cell alkaline batteries per lantern; not included
- Runtime:Up to 12 hours at maximum brightness
- Water resistance:IPX4
- Dimensions and weight:3.54 × 3.86 × 7.28 in; 0.99 kg
Our verdict“Choose the Consciot if you need especially bright, adjustable area lighting and are willing to supply bulky D-cell batteries.”
Eveready GPAL411 Compact LED Camping Lanterns, 2-Pack
The Eveready pair prioritizes runtime and flexible battery use over peak brightness. Each lantern can run on either two or four AA batteries and is rated for up to 100 hours, making it a practical option for buyers who want to stretch a stash of common cells during an outage. Its 250-lumen, 360-degree light suits nearby tasks and smaller rooms, but it cannot match the room-filling output of the Consciot lantern. Compared with the four-lantern Etekcity set, this pack gives you fewer lights but offers a choice of two or four AAs per unit and a stated impact-resistance rating. Brightness and runtime can vary by battery type, and batteries are not included, so the longest runtime should not be treated as guaranteed.
Pros:- Up to 100 hours of stated runtime
- Each lantern accepts either 2 or 4 AA batteries
- 360-degree area lighting up to 250 lumens
- IPX4 water resistance and impact resistance up to 1 meter
Cons:- AA batteries are not included
- Lower maximum output than the Consciot 1000-lumen lantern
- Runtime and brightness depend on battery type
Best for: Emergency kits built around AA batteries and buyers who value extended runtime over high brightness
Not ideal for: People who need strong light across a large room or want lanterns ready to use without sourcing batteries
- Pack size:2 lanterns
- Maximum output:250 lumens per lantern
- Coverage:360-degree area light
- Power source:2 or 4 AA batteries per lantern
- Runtime:Up to 100 hours
- Water resistance:IPX4
- Impact resistance:Up to 1 meter
- Dimensions:5.91 × 8.46 × 6.22 in
- Weight:0.66 kg
Our verdict“Pick the Eveready pair if long operation on familiar AA batteries matters more than maximum brightness or a larger pack.”
DEBAOBULB 6-Pack Rechargeable Emergency LED Light Bulbs, 6000K Daylight, E26
For a home that already has lamps and ceiling fixtures, the DEBAOBULB bulbs provide a different kind of emergency lighting: they work as standard socket bulbs when power is on and switch to battery operation during an outage. The six-bulb pack can spread backup light across several rooms, unlike the portable Eveready lanterns, but its emergency output is lower than its normal 800-lumen mains rating. During an outage, buyers can choose among three settings from 110 to 450 lumens, with roughly 2–6 hours of operation depending on brightness. Each bulb also has a hook for portable use. The tradeoff is planning: they need 7–8 hours to recharge, and they rely on compatible E26/E27 fixtures or the included plug caps rather than acting like a conventional lantern out of the box.
Pros:- Six rechargeable bulbs can provide backup lighting in multiple rooms
- Fits E26/E27 sockets for everyday fixture use
- Three emergency brightness settings, up to 450 lumens
- Included hooks allow portable use away from a socket
Cons:- Emergency runtime ranges from about 2 to 6 hours depending on brightness
- Full charging takes 7–8 hours
- Requires compatible fixtures or plug caps, unlike standalone lanterns such as the Eveready
Best for: Households that want rechargeable backup lighting in existing E26/E27 fixtures across multiple rooms
Not ideal for: Campers and outage planners who need a standalone lantern with long runtime or immediate portable use without charging
- Pack size:6 bulbs
- Bulb shape and base:A19; E26/E27
- Normal brightness:800 lumens
- Color temperature:6000 K
- Wattage:9 W
- Battery capacity:1200 mAh per bulb
- Emergency settings:450 lumens at 2.5 W; 220 lumens at 1.5 W; 110 lumens at 1 W
- Emergency runtime:About 2–6 hours, depending on brightness
- Charging time:7–8 hours
Our verdict“Choose this pack if you want rechargeable outage lighting built into household fixtures rather than a dedicated lantern.”
ROSSEX 4-in-1 Rechargeable Emergency Lights, Pack of 3
The ROSSEX set is designed for hands-off, nearby emergency light: plug each unit into an outlet and it turns on automatically when the power fails. Its flashlight, nightlight, table-lamp, and emergency-light functions make it more adaptable around bedrooms and hallways than a basic bulb backup such as the DEBAOBULB pack. That convenience comes with a clear limit: 50 lumens per light is intended to help someone move through a room, not illuminate a full space. The rechargeable battery offers up to six hours, while the Consciot lantern is a better fit for brighter shared-room lighting and does not depend on a wall outlet for placement. ROSSEX is also not water resistant, so it belongs indoors and should not be treated as an outdoor or wet-weather emergency light.
Pros:- Turns on automatically during a power outage
- Rechargeable by plugging into a standard outlet
- Four functions include flashlight, nightlight, table lamp, and emergency light
- Up to 6 hours of stated runtime
Cons:- Maximum output of 50 lumens is limited to close-range use
- Not water resistant
- Requires an outlet for charging, unlike battery-operated lanterns such as the Consciot
Best for: Households seeking automatic, low-level backup lights for indoor hallways, bedrooms, and bedside use
Not ideal for: Buyers who need bright room-wide illumination, outdoor lighting, or a light that works without access to an outlet for charging
- Pack size:3 lights
- Light output:50 lumens
- Runtime:Up to 6 hours
- Power source:Rechargeable lithium-ion battery
- Functions:Flashlight, nightlight, table lamp, emergency light
- Activation:Turns on automatically during a power outage
- Mounting type:Wall mount
- Water resistance:Not water resistant
- Dimensions:5.43 × 1.81 × 1.52 in
Our verdict“Choose ROSSEX for automatic indoor navigation light, not for illuminating a room or outdoor emergency use.”
Etekcity LED Camping Lanterns, 4-Pack
The Etekcity pack favors coverage across several locations: four collapsible lanterns let you place a light in different rooms or share them among family members. Raising or lowering each lantern adjusts its output up to 154 lumens, a simpler approach than the Consciot’s stepless dimming and multiple color modes, but easy to operate when a power outage catches you off guard. Each unit runs on three AA batteries for up to 50 hours, and this package includes 12 batteries, so it is more immediately usable than the Eveready pair, which requires separately sourced AAs. The lower maximum brightness means these are better for close-range tasks than lighting a large shared room. Their water-resistant ABS bodies and small storage compartments add practicality, though the collapsible format is less suited to buyers seeking a high-output lantern.
Pros:- Four collapsible lanterns provide lighting in several locations
- Brightness adjusts by raising or lowering the lantern
- Up to 50 hours of stated operation per lantern
- Includes 12 AA batteries and has water-resistant ABS bodies
Cons:- Maximum output of 154 lumens is modest beside the Consciot lantern
- Each lantern requires three AA batteries
- Simple height adjustment offers less control than stepless dimming
Best for: Families who want several simple, portable lanterns for distributing around the home, with AA batteries included
Not ideal for: Buyers needing high-output room lighting or adjustable color modes and fine-grained dimming
- Pack size:4 lanterns
- Light source:30 LEDs per lantern
- Maximum brightness:154 lumens
- Coverage:360 degrees
- Power source:3 AA batteries per lantern
- Included batteries:12 AA batteries
- Battery life:Up to 50 hours
- Material and water resistance:ABS; water resistant
- Weight and dimensions:302 g; 3.46 × 3.46 × 4.86 in
Our verdict“Pick the Etekcity four-pack for distributed, straightforward backup light, but choose the Consciot if brightness is your priority.”
Energizer WeatheReady PRO-360 LED Camping Lantern
For emergency lighting that can move from a blackout to a campsite, the Energizer WeatheReady PRO-360 is the most flexible portable option in this group. Its 500-lumen, 360-degree output lights a room more evenly than the focused, wall-mounted heads on the Lithonia and Amazon Basics fixtures. The glow-in-the-dark switch also makes it easier to find when the room is dark.
The useful distinction is battery choice: it accepts either three D or three AA batteries, giving buyers some flexibility when supplies are limited. Low mode is listed for up to 650 hours, but high mode is rated for 150 hours, and that long low-mode figure comes with reduced brightness. It is also a standalone lantern, not a fixture that automatically starts during an outage. Choose it for movable light and skip it if you want permanently installed, automatic backup.
Pros:- Broad 360-degree illumination reaches beyond a narrow beam
- Accepts either three D or three AA batteries
- Low mode is rated for up to 650 hours
- IPX4 water resistance and impact resistance up to 1 meter
Cons:- Requires three batteries, and the product information does not specify that they are included
- Long runtimes apply to low mode rather than maximum brightness
- Does not switch on automatically during a power failure
Best for: Households wanting a portable lantern for outages, camping, and power outages where either D or AA batteries may be on hand
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking automatic, wall-mounted lighting or a lantern supplied with batteries
- Maximum output:500 lumens
- Battery options:Three D or three AA batteries
- Light modes:High, low, and night light
- Runtime:Up to 150 hours on high; up to 650 hours on low
- Water resistance:IPX4
- Impact resistance:Up to 1 meter
- Dimensions:3.94 × 4.17 × 9.45 inches
- Special feature:Glow-in-the-dark switch
Our verdict“Choose this lantern if you want flexible, portable room lighting; choose a hardwired emergency fixture if automatic outage activation matters more.”
Lithonia Lighting Basics LED Emergency Light with Adjustable Heads, 120/277V
The Lithonia Lighting Basics is a purpose-built choice for keeping a hallway or stairway lit when building power fails. Unlike the portable Energizer PRO-360, it is hardwired with a rechargeable Ni-Cad backup battery, so it can provide emergency light without someone needing to find and switch on a lantern. Its two adjustable heads let an installer aim light along a route rather than across a whole room.
This is a code-oriented fixture, not a high-output room light: its listed total output is about 88 lumens, and backup lasts up to 90 minutes. The Sunco six-pack offers more fixtures for covering several locations, while this Lithonia model is a focused option for one path and accepts either 120V or 277V input. I would skip it for renters or anyone unwilling to arrange hardwired installation.
Pros:- Rechargeable backup provides up to 90 minutes of illumination
- Two adjustable heads can be aimed along an exit route
- Supports 120V or 277V hardwired input
- UL Listed and specified for indoor damp locations
Cons:- Requires hardwired installation, with professional installation recommended
- About 88 lumens total is intended for paths rather than broad room lighting
- Backup duration is limited to 90 minutes
Best for: Property owners and facility managers installing backup lighting in an indoor hallway, stairway, or compact exit path
Not ideal for: Renters, DIY buyers seeking a plug-in light, or anyone needing extended illumination across a large open area
- Model:EU2C M6
- Mounting:Wall mount; universal J-box compatible
- Lamp heads:Two adjustable LED heads, 1W each
- Light output:44.6 lumens per head; 88 lumens total (90 lumens maximum listed)
- Backup duration:Up to 90 minutes
- Input voltage:120V or 277V AC, 50/60Hz
- Battery:Rechargeable Ni-Cad
- Housing:Flame-retardant, impact-resistant thermoplastic
- Certifications and standards:UL Listed; NFPA 101, OSHA, FCC, NEC, and CEC Title 20
Our verdict“Pick this fixture for a permanently installed, code-focused hallway or stairway light, not for portable or whole-room emergency illumination.”
Sunco 6-Pack LED Emergency Lights with 90-Minute Battery Backup
When several indoor locations need backup lighting, the Sunco six-pack makes more sense than buying one portable lantern like the Energizer PRO-360. Each hardwired fixture has adjustable floodlight heads that turn on automatically during an outage, making the set suited to covering multiple hallways or other paths without relying on someone to fetch a light.
Every unit is rated for up to 90 minutes of battery backup, and surface mounting is supported on walls or ceilings. The tradeoff is installation: these are hardwired fixtures, not standalone battery lanterns, and the supplied information does not rate them for water resistance. Compared with the Lithonia single fixture, the Sunco set prioritizes coverage across more locations over a single focused installation. It is a poor fit for renters or for places exposed to wet conditions.
Pros:- Six fixtures support coverage across multiple locations
- Turns on automatically during a power outage
- Adjustable floodlight heads direct light where needed
- Wall or ceiling surface mounting with mounting equipment included
Cons:- Requires hardwired installation
- Not water resistant, limiting placement to suitable indoor locations
- Each fixture provides up to 90 minutes of backup rather than extended portable runtime
Best for: Building owners and facility managers equipping several indoor corridors or exit paths with automatic outage lighting
Not ideal for: Renters, buyers needing a portable light, or anyone installing in wet or outdoor locations
- Pack size:6 fixtures
- Backup duration:Up to 90 minutes per fixture
- Voltage:120/277V
- Brightness:300 lumens
- Wattage:2.4 watts
- Mounting:Surface-mounted wall or ceiling
- Material:ABS plastic
- Certification:UL Listed
- Dimensions:13.74 × 3.5 × 3.74 inches
Our verdict“Choose the Sunco pack when multiple indoor paths need automatic backup, and choose a portable lantern if you need light without installation.”
Amazon Basics LED Emergency Light, UL Certified, 6-Pack, Adjustable Bug Eye Heads with Battery Backup (90-Minute)
The Amazon Basics six-pack suits buyers who want multiple fixed emergency fixtures with clear status and test controls. Each unit has two adjustable bug-eye heads, an indicator light, and a test switch, so a building manager can check operation without treating these as everyday portable lamps. Like the Sunco six-pack, it provides 90 minutes of battery backup and supports wall or ceiling mounting; its stated UL-94-5VA flame rating and overcharge protection add detail for safety-focused installations.
Compared with the Sunco set, this model makes its test and indicator features explicit, while the Sunco listing specifies 300 lumens and includes mounting equipment. These are still 120/277V corded-electric fixtures with nickel-cadmium batteries, not independent lanterns. The battery is described as non-replaceable, and the damp-location rating does not extend to wet areas, so installation location and long-term service needs matter.
Pros:- Six fixtures provide multiple installation points
- Adjustable heads, test switch, and indicator light aid setup and checks
- Up to 90 minutes of battery backup per unit
- Fire-retardant ABS housing with UL-94-5VA flame rating and overcharge protection
Cons:- Requires 120/277V electrical connection and is not a portable lantern
- Nickel-cadmium battery is non-replaceable and may need eventual replacement
- Rated for damp conditions, not wet locations
Best for: Building managers or owners who need several hardwired indoor fixtures and value visible status and a test switch
Not ideal for: Renters, buyers who need replaceable battery packs, or installations exposed to rain or direct water
- Pack size:6 fixtures
- Input voltage:120/277V
- Battery:Nickel-cadmium, 3.6V, 1000mAh
- Backup duration:Up to 90 minutes
- Mounting:Wall or ceiling
- Housing:Fire-retardant ABS
- Dimensions:9.6 × 2.7 × 4.7 inches
Our verdict“Choose this set for fixed indoor backup points where test controls and the stated flame rating matter more than portability or replaceable batteries.”
Lichamp LED Camping Lantern – 4 Pack, Portable Collapsible Battery-Powered Light (Gray)
The Lichamp four-pack is aimed at households that want a portable light in several places rather than one permanently installed fixture. Each collapsible lantern provides 350 lumens of 360-degree coverage, and foldable handles make it easier to hang or store than the fixed Lithonia and Sunco emergency lights. The set can also serve during camping or other situations where a hardwired light would be useless.
Its main compromise is power and control: each lantern uses three AA batteries, with a listed battery life of 30 hours, far below the Energizer PRO-360’s claimed low-mode runtime. The product information also says there is no traditional on/off switch, which may slow down someone trying to use it in a blackout. Water-resistant plastic helps for outdoor use, but no specific water-resistance rating is supplied. Choose this for several grab-and-go lights, not long-duration unattended backup.
Pros:- Four portable lanterns provide light at several locations
- 350-lumen output with 360-degree coverage
- Collapsible body and foldable handles support storage and hanging
- Water-resistant plastic construction is suited to outdoor use
Cons:- Each lantern requires three AA batteries, which are not included
- Listed battery life is 30 hours, shorter than the Energizer PRO-360’s low-mode runtime
- No traditional on/off switch may be less intuitive during an outage
Best for: Families, campers, or vehicle owners who want several compact, hanging lanterns for short outages and outdoor use
Not ideal for: Buyers prioritizing very long runtime, simple conventional controls, or automatic fixed emergency lighting
- Pack size:4 lanterns
- Light output:350 lumens
- Beam coverage:360 degrees
- Power source:Three AA batteries per lantern
- Battery life:30 hours
- Design:Collapsible with foldable handles
- Material:Water-resistant plastic
- Dimensions:3.38 × 3.38 × 9.56 inches
Our verdict“Pick this set for several portable lights that store compactly, but choose the Energizer if longer listed runtime and more familiar controls matter more.”

How We Picked
I compared these products by the job they are built to do: fixed emergency illumination, portable outage lighting, or a rechargeable bulb-style backup. The ranking weighs stated backup duration where provided, light direction and output claims, portability, power and installation requirements, and how clearly each format fits a buyer’s use. A 90-minute backup is useful context for installed fixtures, but it does not by itself show how much area will be lit or whether the product suits a particular location.
Products rank higher when their design gives a clear advantage for the named use and the buyer can readily understand the tradeoff. That puts the adjustable-head RMC near the top for fixed coverage and the dimmable Consciot near the top for portable lighting, while multi-packs rank well for planned multi-location needs rather than universal performance. I also account for drawbacks: portable lanterns may require manual placement, fixed fixtures require compatible installation, and rechargeable or replaceable battery systems call for different upkeep. The list includes distinct roles rather than treating every emergency light as interchangeable.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Battery Powered Emergency Lights
Before choosing a model, decide what should happen when the power goes out: a fixture should activate automatically, a light should travel with you, or an existing lamp should keep working through a backup bulb. These broader choices often matter more than a headline brightness figure.
Choose Between Automatic Fixtures and Portable Lights
A hardwired emergency fixture is intended to remain in a set location and provide light when normal power fails; a lantern is a portable source you place where the outage affects you. This distinction shapes the whole purchase, including installation, testing, and where light is available. A common mistake is buying several lanterns while assuming they will provide automatic exit-path lighting, or installing fixed units when you need a light for a basement, car, or outdoor kit. Think through the first few minutes of an outage: do you need a light to switch on without searching, or can you reach a stored lantern safely? For mixed needs, a fixed fixture near a route out and a portable lantern for living areas can complement each other.
Match Backup Claims to the Time You Need
Some installed models in this lineup state a 90-minute backup, which gives a useful duration to compare, but runtime alone does not describe brightness over that period. Portable lantern runtime can vary with brightness settings, battery condition, and battery type, so check the product’s operating details rather than assuming its brightest mode lasts throughout an outage. Decide whether the goal is a short interruption, safe movement through the home, or extended power loss. A lower setting can stretch portable light use, while an installed unit is selected for a specific emergency-lighting role. Avoid comparing runtimes across different product formats as though their output and use conditions were identical.
Plan Coverage, Not Just the Number of Lights
Head direction, mounting height, room layout, and obstructions affect how useful a light will be. Adjustable dual heads can aim light toward separate parts of a route, while a lantern provides more flexible placement but may need to be carried or repositioned. Multipacks are attractive for covering several locations, yet buying by pack count alone can leave dark areas if units are clustered or aimed poorly. Sketch the areas you want lit, including stairs, hallways, and the room where people gather, then decide whether each needs a fixed fixture or a movable source. For large or divided spaces, more than one well-placed light may matter more than one high-output unit.
Check Installation and Electrical Compatibility
Fixed emergency lights are not simply portable lights with a wall mount: they may require connection to building power and a suitable installation location. Verify voltage compatibility, mounting method, and any stated listing or certification against your site and local requirements before buying. If you are replacing an existing fixture, compare its wiring and mounting arrangement rather than relying on appearance alone. Buyers who do not want electrical work may prefer a battery lantern or rechargeable bulb, but those choices do not automatically fulfill the same building or safety role. When the light is part of a required egress system, consult a qualified installer or the relevant authority instead of treating a product label as proof of suitability for every setting.
Understand Battery Type and Ongoing Upkeep
Emergency lighting needs attention before an outage, not only during one. Installed backup batteries may need periodic functional checks and replacement according to the manufacturer’s instructions; portable models need charged or serviceable batteries kept where they can be found. Rechargeable E26 bulbs offer a familiar lamp format, but their performance depends on compatibility with the fixture and on keeping them maintained. A frequent mistake is buying a backup light and storing it for years without checking whether it still operates. Choose a maintenance routine you can actually follow, and keep instructions or test dates with the light so its readiness is not left to memory.
Pay for Features That Fit Your Use
Adjustable heads, dimming, a rechargeable design, or a large pack can be worthwhile when they solve a specific problem. Dimming is useful when you want to balance light output against battery use; adjustable heads help direct fixed coverage; and a multipack makes sense when you already know where each unit will go. These features add little if you need only one basic light or cannot maintain the battery system. For a first emergency kit, a straightforward portable lantern can be easier to store and use than a fixture requiring installation. Spend more attention on fit, upkeep, and placement than on a feature list that does not match your outage plan.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I buy a hardwired emergency fixture or a battery lantern?
Choose a hardwired fixture when you want a set location to provide backup lighting during a power failure, especially along a planned route. Choose a lantern when you want to carry light between rooms or keep it in a vehicle or emergency kit. The RMC and Lithonia models represent the installed-fixture approach, while the portable camping lanterns serve a more flexible role. If both automatic coverage and room-to-room use matter, combining one fixed light with a portable lantern may be more useful than asking either format to do both jobs. For required building safety lighting, check applicable local rules and installation requirements.
Is a stated 90-minute backup enough for my home?
It depends on the purpose and location of the light. A 90-minute figure gives a stated backup duration for several fixed-light options here, but it does not establish how much of your home will be illuminated or whether that duration meets a building requirement. Consider whether the light is for safe movement during a brief outage or part of a designated emergency route. For longer outages, pair fixed coverage with portable lights and plan how to maintain those batteries. Check the manufacturer’s documentation and any applicable requirements before relying on a runtime claim for a safety-critical installation.
Are camping lanterns suitable replacements for installed emergency lights?
They can provide useful light during an outage, but they do not perform the same automatic, fixed-location role as an installed emergency fixture. A lantern may need to be found, switched on, and placed, so it is less suitable where light must appear automatically when normal power fails. Portable models are a good fit for living areas, temporary use, and emergency kits. If you need reliable coverage at a specific exit or pathway, choose a fixture designed for that purpose and verify installation requirements. You can use both formats to cover different needs.
How many emergency lights should I buy for a home?
There is no useful number without a coverage plan: a compact home with clear routes has different needs from a multi-level home with enclosed stairs or long hallways. Mark the areas where people need to move safely, then consider whether each spot calls for a fixed fixture or a portable light. The Sunco and Amazon Basics multipacks can suit buyers covering several locations, but a larger pack does not guarantee better placement. For required egress lighting, follow local rules and get qualified advice about coverage. For general outage readiness, add portable lights where people are likely to gather or where fixed lights do not reach.
What should I check before buying rechargeable emergency bulbs?
Confirm the bulb base and fixture compatibility, how the bulb charges or switches to backup operation, and how it behaves when power fails. The DEBAOBULB E26 option offers a familiar screw-in format, but that does not make it equivalent to an installed emergency fixture. Check the manufacturer’s instructions for charging, use, and storage, and test the bulb in the lamp where you intend to use it. Consider whether you need automatic area coverage or simply a backup for a particular lamp. If the bulb is meant to satisfy a formal safety requirement, verify that the product is approved for that use rather than assuming a rechargeable design is enough.
Conclusion
For most buyers seeking a fixed, adjustable emergency light, I’d start with the RMC LED Emergency Lights 2-Pack as the best overall pick. For portable lighting with brightness control, the Consciot 1000-Lumen Lantern is the strongest match; for equipping several fixed locations, the Amazon Basics 6-Pack is a practical value choice when its installation and coverage fit your plan. Beginners who want a simple light to carry should look at a portable lantern such as the MalloMe 2-Pack, while buyers focused on backup for existing lamp sockets can consider the DEBAOBULB rechargeable bulbs. For larger multi-location installations, compare the Sunco 12-Pack with smaller fixed-light packs and buy according to mapped coverage, not quantity alone. Choose the product format that matches the job first; then compare runtime, aiming, and upkeep.















